A Round of Applause

Thanks to everyone who left a comment on my last post! I’m hard at work on compiling the data I collected into a video presentation that I’ll turn in for my final project. I really appreciate everyone’s input on the topic. Every opinion was unique and a welcome addition to my assignment. 

In other news, this week marked the last day of classes at the university, and for me this meant the last day of classes for the duration of my graduate-level education. On Thursday I received official confirmation that I passed my comprehensive exams (woohoo! For those of you who are unfamiliar, this exam comes in three parts and takes a grand total of about five hours, with a few breaks in between.)  and that the Creative Writing Committee had voted to accept my thesis submission–my first novel (which still needs about a megaton of work before it’s market-ready!) tentatively titled In the Sliver of Her Shrinking Shadow

I for one could not be happier to be putting graduate school behind me for a while. Though several people have asked about/pushed me in the direction of a PhD, I’m looking forward to having a little downtime where I can read whatever I want (!) and spend some time pursuing my other hobbies and interests. Though I won’t officially be walking in the commencement ceremony (too expensive and long), we’ll be celebrating with a big party full of our family and friends. I’ve already made all of the invitations and started distributing them (pictures soon!), and I’m hard at work on a menu. My sister will be flying town just to celebrate, and I’m looking forward to having her around the house! Andrew and I will be supplying food for the grill–chicken, beef, and veggie kebabs, one of my favorite healthy options–and a few sides. We’re also asking that the guests bring a favorite side to share. I can’t wait to spend time with all of my favorite people. There’s nothing I love more than bringing people together, stuffing them full of delicious food, and making them laugh! 

Yesterday the English Department hosted a party at The Jaded Pearl, a fabulous little venue operated by the same people who own The Donut Whole, and I tried my hand at a few grad-themed cookies:

Image

I love how they came out! If you’re interested in decorating your own cookies, check out this tutorial by Annie over at Annie’s eats. She has some great suggestions for spring themes, valentines, and even halloween. Or you can jet over to Sugarbelle’s site. Cookies are her specialty, and she has a great post about mixing colors for your frosting that are useful for cakes and cupcakes, too. 

Do any of you have big plans coming up? A graduation of your own or some other special event? How will you be celebrating? I’d love to hear your thoughts on party ideas! 

Leave a Reply

