In a Pinch

Last night Casa de Croskey featured a popular conversation among co-habitors:

     Co-habitor A: What do you want to do about dinner? 

     Co-habitor R: Not sure. Eat out? Pizza? (thinking: I’d really love to tell YOU to come up with something, but potato chips really don’t make a suitable dinner.) 

But the more I thought about pizza, the more I thought about how eating it would undo all of the hard work we’d done tonight at the gym. Between the calories and the expense, eating out just didn’t seem appealing, but neither did the thought of cooking. So that left….cereal? 

Honey Nut Cheerios really just didn’t get my fire going, and the more I thought about it, the more I came back to pizza. With it’s delicious, carbohydrate-filled crusts and gooey puddles of cheese, the fat kid in me was having a field day. The intelligent, health conscious part of me decided to compromise with a quick pizza-like substitute. 

Okay, so big deal. Why should we care, Rebecca? 

To which I respond with: because I have somehow stumbled upon one of the easiest and most delicious fly by the seat of your pants sort of meals I’ve come up with in a long time. 

Knowing that we had a jar of marinara at the house, as well as the usual veggies and some good mozzarella cheese, I swung by the grocery store and grabbed a loaf of ciabatta bread. Slice that puppy down the middle and voila! Instant pizza. 

Okay, so I’m not the first person to have ever thought of this, but it was damned delicious–more so because it was easy and didn’t delay my evening too significantly. So if you’re looking for a few dinner ideas, here’s what we worked up: 

Andrew’s Pizza: 

  • Half of a ciabatta loaf
  • Bacon
  • Red onion
  • Fresh basil
  • Olives
  • Garlic
  • Fresh mozzarella
  • Drizzle of pepper-infused olive oil

Yield: 3 servings or 2 Andrew-sized servings

Rebecca’s Pizza (WW 8pp):

Ingredients

  • thinly sliced red onion
  • applewood smoked bacon, torn to small pieces (so that the total weight comes to just a few grams when sprinkled on the pizza)
  • basil-infued olive oil
  • good balsamic vinegar (I used Lucini, Dark-Cherry infused) 
  • olives, finely chopped
  • garlic, finely chopped
  • fresh basil, minced or sliced in ribbons

Yield: 3 servings

Cook in the oven on broil until the cheese has reached your desired level of gooeyness. 

Leave a Reply

