Our Daily Thanks – Day 7

Like most people, my New Years resolutions feature an emphasis on health and fitness. I’m so over this post-baby body. In May of 2013, I ran my first half marathon, and my goal now is to get back to that level of athleticism so that I can run the Disney Princess half marathon in 2016. There are a couple of things that I’m doing in support of that goal–like a year without booze so I can cut empty calories–but the one I’m most excited about is the running group at my local YMCA. We had our first meeting last night, and as I was thinking about things today, I realized how grateful I am that we have this program. In 10 weeks I’ll be doing a 10k in hopes of being half marathon ready by early summer. For now, though, I’m so content to be amongst other people of similar interest and all skill levels. Even though I was at the back of the pack last night, I was among people who were already shouting words of support and laughing together despite being total strangers. It was pretty awesome.

2015/01/img_3454.jpg

Leave a Reply

